View All News Items

2011-12 GAABESU New Research Awards Winners - Wednesday, September 07, 2011 at 05:59


Update on November 24, 2011

  • Each winner receives Rs 15,000 for 2011-12
  • 4th Research Award is announced - Krishnendu Ghosh, 7th Semester, ETC [Application & Certificates, Paper] -  Prof A K Seal Under-graduate Fellowship donated by an annonymous donor in USA who was also a student of Dr. A K Seal

November 11, 2011

We are pleased to inform you that the following students have been selected for the GAABESU research awards in the current academic year (2011-12). The goals of this new category of award are i) to  encourage research works among the undergraduate students and ii) to recognize the outstanding researchers irrespective of their student status (whether under-graduate and post-graduate).  We believe that the monetary award will provide incentives & create an atmosphere where more students will undertake research works as a part of the academic program.  We hope that they will  present and/or publish the research works in the national and international journals or professional events.  This will not only bring professional recognition to them but also to our Alma Mater.  The students are: 
  • Mohammad Mobashir, 7th Semester, CST - Ashok Kumar Sarkar Under-graduate Fellowship from a donation of USD 5000.00 by Mr. Aveek Sarkar, (IIT Kanpur alumnus), California, USA  [Application and Certificates, Paper]
  • Sandip Dey, 7th Semester, CE  - Gouri and Jitendra Mohan Mazumder Under-graduate Fellowship from a donation of USD 5000.00 by Prof Jyotirmoy Mazumder, '72 MetE, Michigan, USA. [Application, Paper1, Paper2, Paper3]
  • Sankhasubhra Sen, Appl. Mech.(PG) - Ashok Kumar Sarkar Post-graduate Fellowship from a donation of USD 10,000.00 by Mr. Aveek Sarkar, (IIT Kanpur alumnus), California, USA [Application and Paper]
GAABESU formed a team of reviewers and the following alumni reviewed credentials (supporting documents including research papers) of all 14 candidates who applied to these 3 awards.  All of our reviewers are actively involved with GAABESU activities and served either as an elected executive committee (EC) member or as a permanent invitee to GAABESU EC.


Date 8th. September, 2011.


Global Alumni Association of Bengal Engineering and Science University, Shibpur (GAABESU), since its inception has taken up numerous programmes and projects in hand with BESUS to promote excellence in this University. As a part of this endeavour it is running successfully several studentsí assistance ship programmes namely Scholarship, Admission and Book Grant etc. GAABESU, as its newest venture, has initiated Research Excellence Awards to promote research among UG & PG students.

This award will be given to the research work which can be presented / published to the national and international professional events and/or publications. The awards will support partial travel grants to attend those events, to buy books or subscriptions to journals/memberships or even to publish to journals.

Initially the award programme will start with three Fellowship awards in the name of:

  • Gouri and Jitendra Mohan Mazumder Undergraduate Fellowship from a donation of USD 5000.00 by Prof Jyotirmoy Mazumder, 1972 MET, Michigan, USA 
  • Ashok Kumar Sarkar Undergraduate Fellowship from a donation of USD 5000.00 by Mr. Aveek Sarkar, (IIT Kanpur alumnus) California, USA 
  • Ashok Kumar Sarkar Postgraduate Fellowship from a donation of USD 10,000.00 by Mr. Aveek Sarkar, (IIT Kanpur alumnus) California, USA 

The selection of the research work for nomination to the awards will be done by a committee specially constituted for this purpose, by GAABESU.

All undergraduate and postgraduate students of this University are invited to collect the application form from GAABESU office and submit the filled up one along with a copy of the research paper/article/proposal to the office on any working day, except Saturdays, Sundays and Holidays from 12.00 noon to 6.00 p.m. within 30th. Septemberí 2011.

 (Prof. Aditya Bandyopadhyay)

Honorary Secretary, GAABESU



About Us | Privacy Policy | Terms of Services | Advertise | FAQ | Feedback | Contact Us
Copyright ©1999- 2015 All rights reserved